Война в Нагорном Карабахе

After The Russian peacekeeping troops that were sent to Ukraine left Nagorno-Karabakh, the Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict is flaring up again.

On September 27, 2020, the conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh escalated. On the night of November 10, the Prime Minister of Armenia, together with the presidents of Russia and Azerbaijan, adopted a trilateral statement on ending the conflict, introducing peacekeepers into Nagorno-Karabakh and transferring a number of areas in the region to Azerbaijan.

In connection with the intensification of hostilities on the part of Azerbaijan, martial law has been declared in Nagorno-Karabakh.

Armenians have lived in the territory of Nagorno-Karabakh since the IV century AD (according to some sources and earlier). Nagorno-Karabakh was part of the Greater Armenia Empire.

After the collapse of the empire, Nagorno-Karabakh became subordinate first to Persia, then became part of the restored Armenian kingdom.

The main ethnic group of Nagorno-Karabakh are Armenians.

Since the XV century, the struggle against the Ottoman Empire began in Nagorno-Karabakh, and in 1720 Nagorno-Karabakh voluntarily became part of Russia.

After the revolution of 1917, Azerbaijan declares Nagorno-Karabakh annexed to Azerbaijan, which causes discontent among Armenians and the first Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict of 1918.

The Soviet authorities manage to extinguish the conflict by annexing Nagorno-Karabakh to Azerbaijan.
The conflict was not finally resolved and resumed again in 1987.

Tensions escalated and full-scale hostilities between Armenia and Azerbaijan began in 1991.

Hostilities were conducted permanently until 2020, when a 3-party agreement was reached between Russia, Armenia and Azerbaijan. Russian peacekeeping forces entered Nagorno-Karabakh.

After Russia suffered huge losses in the course of military operations on the territory of Ukraine, Russian troops were withdrawn from the territory of Nagorno-Karabakh.



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *